1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer

The degree of Doctor of Theology has been designed specifically for those ministry professionals who wish to pursue advanced studies relevant to their own particular denomination including theology, denominational history, liturgy, ecclesiology, polity, hymnody, and spirituality.

Admission Requirement

Anyone possessing a master of theology or its equivalent meets the basic requirement for admission to the program.

Program Requirements

The PhD is awarded upon successful completion of the following:

  • research language requirements (or their equivalent, in some concentrations);
  • 72 quarter units of doctoral-level coursework (seminars or directed readings);
  • comprehensive examinations;
  • a dissertation proposal; and a
  • scholarly dissertation based on research in the major concentration area.

Although each concentration has specific requirements, a typical program includes:


Stage One of the PhD program consists of 42 units of seminars and directed readings, including a methods seminar or foundational course in the student’s concentration. After 42 units have been completed, students will take four comprehensive examinations. Students who pass the comprehensive examinations will become candidates, and move into Stage Two.


Stage Two of the PhD program consists of completing another 30 units of seminars and/or directed readings, related to dissertation research and writing. Students will pass a dissertation proposal and write a dissertation demonstrating knowledge of field research, evidence of independent research, an original contribution to the field, and appropriate presentation and format.

  • Students will have a primary mentor under whom they design their 72-unit program of seminars and directed readings.
  • Faculty in each field may require a minor concentration; in fields that do not require a minor concentration, students may choose their own minor concentration, in which they may take no more than 18 units.
  • The PhD program requires that students spend at least two years full-time study on the Douala, Cameroon campus. Part-time students must complete at least six 6-unit seminars and/or directed readings on the Douala, Cameroon campus.